Essential Pyongyang Facts

By admin ~ November 13th, 2009. Filed under: Pyongyang.

Pyongyang is the capital of North Korea, located on the Taedong River. According to preliminary results from the 2008 population census, it has a population of 3,255,388. The city was split from the South P’yŏngan province in 1946. It is administered as a directly-governed city.

North Koreans associate Pyongyang with Asadal, the first capital of Gojoseon according to Korean history books, notably Samguk Yusa. Many South Korean historians dispute this association because other Korean history books place Asadal around the Liao He located in western Manchuria. Nonetheless, Pyongyang became a major city under Gojoseon.

One of its many historic names is Ryugyŏng, or “capital of willows”, as willow trees have always been numerous throughout the city’s history, and many poems have been written about these willows. Even today, Pyongyang has numerous willow trees planted everywhere, and many buildings and places have “Ryugyŏng” in their names, the most notable of all being its uncompleted Ryugyŏng Hotel.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.